2013 Indian Premier League: Mumbai Indians win their maiden IPL title


  • The 2013 season of the Indian Premier League was the sixth season (IPL 6) of this annual prestigious tournament.
  • The tournament featured nine teams and was held from 3 April to 26 May 2013.
  • Mumbai Indians won the tournament for the first time, defeating Chennai Super Kings by 23 runs in the finals played at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.
  • Kieron Pollard was declared the man of the match in the final for his all round effort.
  • Mumbai Indians earned a prize money of Rs 10 crore, while runners-up Chennai Super Kings were awarded Rs 7.5 crore in the Rs 25 crore prize money tournament.
  • Australian Cricketer Michael Hussey who plays for Chennai Super Kings (CSK) became the Winner of the Orange Cap in IPL 2013.
  • In 17 matches played this season Michael Hussey scored 733 runs with an average of 52.35 with a highest score of 95.
  • He equaled the last year’s Chris Gayle record of 733 runs which is the highest aggregate score by any batsman in any season of IPL so far.
  • Dwayne Bravo became the Winner of Purple Cap in IPL 2013 taking 32 Wickets.
  • He became the first person in history of IPL to take 32 wickets, previous best being 28 Wickets taken by Lasith Malinga (Mumbai Indians) in IPL 2011.
  • Shane Watson (Rajasthan Royals) won the ‘Most Valuable Player’ (Man of the Series) award.
  • Royal Challengers Explosive Batsman, Chris Gayle hit the most number of sixes in IPL 2013.
  • In the entire season Chris Gayle hit 51 sixes in IPL 2013 which is nearly double than his next competitor.
  • During IPL 2013 while playing against Pune Warriors Gayle scored the fastest century across any format of cricket from 30 balls and the highest individual score (175) in an innings in T20 cricket.
  • Other Key Awards:
  1. Catch of the season: Gurkeerat Singh from Kings XI Punjab.
  2. Young player of the season: Sanju Samson from Rajasthan Royals.
  3. Fairplay Trophy: Chennai Super Kings
  • Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians) announced his retirement from the IPL soon after Mumbai Indians’ victory.
  • He did not play in the last few matches, including the final due to an injury; he worked as a guide and mentor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *