2013 Ramon Magsaysay Award

raymon magsaysay

  • The Ramon Magsaysay Award is an annual award established in 1957 by the trustees of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund based in New York City with the concurrence of the Philippine government.
  • The Ramon Magsaysay Award is Asia’s highest honor and is widely regarded as the region’s equivalent of the Nobel Prize.
  • It celebrates the memory and leadership example of the third Philippine president, and is given every year to individuals or organizations in Asia who manifest the same sense of selfless service that ruled the life of the late and beloved Filipino leader.
  • The first Ramon Magsaysay Awards were given on August 31, 1958 to five outstanding individuals working in India, Indonesia, Philippines, Republic of China (Taiwan) and Sri Lanka, and a Philippine-based organization.
  • Presentation Ceremonies are held annually in Manila on 31 August, the birth anniversary of the late President.

The Magsaysay awardees of 2013

  • On 25th July, 2013, the Board of Trustees of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation (RMAF) announced that in 2013 three individuals and two organizations from Afghanistan, Indonesia, Myanmar, Nepal and the Philippines will receive Asia’s premier prize, the Ramon Magsaysay Award.
  • Afghanistan’s first and only female provincial governor and an aid worker from Myanmar’s Kachin minority are among the winners of this year’s prestigious Ramon Magsaysay awards.
  • Both Habiba Sarabi, governor of the Afghan province of Bamyan, and Myanmar aid worker Lahpai Seng Raw did not allow their minority origins to stop them from empowering other people.
  • The detailed list of Awardees is given below:

Ernesto Domingo, from the Philippines. He is being recognized for “his exemplary embrace of the social mission of medical science and his profession, his steadfast leadership in pursuing ‘health for all’ as a shared moral responsibility of all sectors, and his groundbreaking and successful advocacy for neonatal hepatitis vaccination, thereby saving millions of lives in the Philippines.”
Komisi Pemberantasan Korupsi (Corruption Eradication Commission), from Indonesia. The organization is being recognized for “its fiercely independent and successful campaign against corruption in Indonesia, combining the uncompromising prosecution of erring powerful officials with farsighted reforms in governance systems and the educative promotion of vigilance, honesty, and active citizenship among all Indonesians.”
Lahpai Seng Raw, from Myanmar. She is being recognized for “her quietly inspiring and inclusive leadership—in the midst of deep ethnic divides and prolonged armed conflict—to regenerate and empower damaged communities and to strengthen local NGOs in promoting a non-violent culture of participation and dialogue as the foundation for Myanmar’s peaceful future.”
Habiba Sarabi, from Afghanistan. She is being recognized for “her bold exercise of leadership to build up a functioning provincial government against great odds—intractable political adversities, a harsh and impoverished environment, and pervasive cultural discrimination—serving her people with a hopeful persistence grounded in her abiding commitment to peace and development in Afghanistan”
Shakti Samuha (“Power Group”), from Nepal. The organization’s founders and members are being recognized for “transforming their lives in service to other human trafficking survivors, their passionate dedication towards rooting out a pernicious social evil in Nepal, and the radiant example they have shown the world in reclaiming the human dignity that is the birthright of all abused women and children everywhere.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *