Contact Us: 9580974747     
E-mail :

2013 Wimbledon Championships

July 8th, 2013

[row class=”row-fluid”]
[col class=”span6″]
andy murray
[col class=”span6″]France+Marion+Bartoli+[/col]

  • The 2013 Wimbledon Championships was a tennis tournament played on outdoor grass courts.
  • It was the 127th edition of the Wimbledon Championships and the third Grand Slam event of the year, which took place at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club from 24th June to 7th July, 2013.
  • Roger Federer and Serena Williams were the defending champions in Gentlemen’s Singles & Ladies’ Singles category respectively, but neither was able to repeat their success.
  • Federer was eliminated in the second round by Sergiy Stakhovsky and Williams lost in the fourth round to Sabine Lisicki.
  • This marked the first time since 1927 in which both defending champions were eliminated before the quarter-finals.
  • In the first round in Gentlemen’s Singles categoty, World No. 135 Steve Darcis produced another one of the biggest upsets in recent years by defeating World No. 5 and two-time Wimbledon champion Rafael Nadal in straight sets.
  • It was the first time ever Nadal lost in the first round of a Grand Slam tournament.
  • Also, for the first time since the 1912 Wimbledon Championships no American men advanced past the second round which was their worst showing at the tournament in over 100 years.
  • Also during the 2013 championships, Japanese veteran Kimiko Date-Krumm became the oldest woman to reach the third round of Wimbledon since the Open era started in 1968.
  • In the third round she lost to Serena Williams 6-2, 6-0.
  • It is to be noted that 42 year old Date-Krumm announced her retirement on 24 September 1996.
  • However, she returned to tennis nearly 12 years later in April 2008.
  • In the final match of Gentlemen’s singles category, Andy Murray defeated Novak Djokovic in straight sets to become the first British man to win the Wimbledon title since Fred Perry won in 1936.
  • It is to be noted that Djokovic had advanced to the final after an epic and gruelling 5-set semifinal against Juan Martín Del Potro.
  • At 4 hours and 43 minutes it made history as the longest semifinal ever contested at Wimbledon, breaking the previous record set by Boris Becker and Ivan Lendl at the 1989 Championships.
  • In the ladies singles category, Marion Bartoli of france won in the final in straight sets to claim her first Wimbledon title.
  • She defeated Sabine Lisicki of Germany by 6-1, 6-4 in the final played on 6th July 2013.
  • Her win at Wimbledon made her the sixth player in the open era to win the Championships without dropping a set.
  • Also, she became the first woman in history to win Wimbledon without beating a top 10 player.
  • She also became the female player who participated in the most Grand Slam tournaments before winning one, as this was her 47th such tournament (breaking the previous perseverance record held by Jana Novotna, at 45).
  • In the men’s doubles category, Bob and Mike Bryan of America won the title after defeating Ivan Dodig and Marcelo Melo 3–6, 6–3, 6–4, 6–4.
  • Bryans completed Non-calendar year Golden Slam and thus became the first doubles team in tennis history to hold all four majors as well as Olympic gold medal at the same time.
  • Bob and Mike Bryan have achieved this by winning the 2012 Olympics, 2012 US Open, 2013 Australian Open, 2013 French Open and 2013 Wimbledon Championships.
  • It is to be noted that winning four consecutive Grand Slam tournaments and Olympic event in the period of twelve months, although not in one year is called Non-calendar year Golden Slam.
  • In the women’s doubles category, Hsieh Su-wei (Chinese taipei) and Peng Shuai (China) won the title, defeating Ashleigh Barty and Casey Dellacqua in the final, 7–6, 6–1.
  • Hsieh won her first ladies doubles championship, making her the first person from Taiwan to win a Grand Slam title of any kind.
  • It was 1st Grand Slam title for Peng Shuai as well.
  • In the mixed doubles category, Daniel Nestor (Canada) and Kristina Mladenovic (France) won the title.

Author: admin

I am a writer and always write on latest topic related to competitive exam.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *