Siddaramaiah Elected 22nd Chief Minister of Karnataka


  • On 10th May, 2013 Congress leader K Siddaramaiah has been elected as Karnataka’s new chief minister.
  • He was elected as Chief Minister, after the Congress adopted secret balloting route to select the new chief minister.
  • He will be sworn in as the State’s 22nd chief minister on 13th May, 2013.
  • 64-year-old Siddaramaiah is a five-time MLA from Varuna constituency in Mysore district.
  • He won 2013 election from same constituency on 8th May 2013.
  • Earlier, as a Janata Dal (Secular) leader, he was Deputy Chief Minister of Karnataka on two occasions(1996 and 2004).
  • It is to be noted that Congress swept to power with a comfortable majority of 121 MLAs in the 224-member House, elections to which were held on 5 May.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *